Milan Marmite Week AW 2015

After the lightheartedness of London Fashion Week I found myself in a bit of a fug at Milan’s offering. Ok, so they have some super big names but really, although it had its good moments it was awash with bad. And fur. Ugghh, so much fur, popping up in places where, dammit, it really took the piss (fur shoulder bows at Prada anyone?)

So, I’ll start with the good. Alberta Ferretti is always beautiful. A gorgeous warm looking cropped jacket and in white. I also can’t resist a Victorian looking white shirt or velvet over-knee boots it seems:

feretti3

She showed some beautiful brocade fabrics, I loved this suit:

feretti6

And my old friend the pinafore, this time almost medieval looking but beautiful non the less:

feretti9

Fendi was a bit all over the place but it started well. I think a large white winter coat is in order for next year:

fendi1

And a beautifully cut white winter dress:

fendi1

Prada was so wonderful for colour, shape and freshness and had no need for the endless fur additions. Many gorgeous dresses and jackets were ruined by random fur panels which I refuse to show. There was also a fascination with ostrich skin leather which was a bit much for me I’m afraid. However, here are some of the lovelies that got away without them:

prada4

This may be kinda crackers but it doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate its many lovely aspects.

prada2

I love camel coloured coats and I have no idea why this works, who puts metallic lime, scarlet and pink together and gets away with it. Fab.

Prada1

Maxmara was a bit of a snoozefest, but at least it was wearable:

maxmara1

Ditto Armani. I actually couldn’t find anything I was mad about, masses of identical trousers, some with flaps (!) and some without. Plus it went on an on…

Armani1

Dolce & Gabbana was pretty much exactly the same as it has been for every show for the past 6 or so seasons. All very spanish in feel, lovely shapes and lots of very wearable pieces, however, with slightly overwhelming themes of mothers and roses.This was pretty ravishing:

DG1

There was also some really quirky child-drawn fabric at the end.

DG3

Now for the less great. I’ll start with Gucci. I have nothing good to say about this collection. It felt lazy, self-important and just didn’t work. And don’t start me on the dead-dog shoes.. My evidence:

gucci2

Not even Alexa Chung would wear this (cue Alexa Chung proving me wrong).

gucci1

Ok, here is a nice print. But honestly, I really had to think about whether to show any of them given the shoe, fur situation and the ugliness of it all.

gucci3

Missoni was equally ugly. It felt like a bunch of cheap knits and matchign leggings you’d buy on Kat Moon’s stall on the market:

Missoni1

Versace still think they need to plaster their name on EVERYTHING in order to get people to wear it. Really?

versace1

I’m a Scorpio so I should love this but I don’t. Its hideous. Thanks Pucci:

pucci2

And finally. A whole lot of WTF. Am I missing something. The irony? The fact that it is so utterly awful that its brilliant?? Explain PLEASE!! Moschino:

moschino4

Not

moschino2

Even

moschino1

KIDDING.

(all photos from vogue.com)

 

One thought on “Milan Marmite Week AW 2015

Leave a comment