London Fashion Week Rundown – Boho Craziness

There were two main themes running through London Fashions Week, firstly our old friend Boho, a look that has been missing for all of about 5 seconds. Its not that not I’m a fan, I am, but too much can get a bit, well, Edina Monsoon (Lacroix sweetie!) Secondly, many of the catwalks were so darn dark and moody you couldn’t see the clothes. However, here is my snapshot of what went down:

Boho Burberry. I can’t help but love this, my 16 year old self is having a meltdown…

Burberry1

Great colours, in a 1970s wallpaper themed fabric:

Burberry2

Um, no.

Burberry3

Erdem had some similar shapes (but shiny shiny versions).

Erdem4

But then this happened, heaven:

Erdem1

This coat is just incredible. How the heck did they blend thes completely opposing fabrics together? Or is the shiny shiny part painted on? Whatever –  a massive YES PLEASE!

Erdem2

And I’ll end with this little pretty, worn by Laexa Chung the following day at the Elle Style Awards:

Erdem3

I love Giles, but the catwalk was so flipping dark it was hard to see any of the details and many of the looks were primarily black. However, a fab magic mushroom print appeared:

Giles2

Happy days – as did this witchy number. I love a cape though I may pass on the ruffles:

Giles1

Christopher Kane was feeling romantic. Delicate blue vein print? Or winter branches?

Kane2

Navy, black and red velvet. Oh yes.

Kane6

Then this range of dresses began to appear. There is some lovin’ special time going one here:

Kane4

And goodness, LOTS of lovin’ special time going on here:

Kane5

Roksanda was my favorite show my a country mile. Fabulous colours, fabrics, shapes. But there was also lots of (UNNECESSARY) fur which made me very sad. I will continue to hope that it was faux but I will not be showing any look in which it featured.

Roskanda1

The make up is beautiful too. I love dark berry lips. Works so well with the mustarrd and other pops of colour. Not to mention those shoes!

Roskanda2

Peter Pilotto was a as colourful as you would imagine and fell on the Boho side of the proceedings.

Pilotto4

It’s great fun, and the colours were mouthwatering. This makes me very happy in an AW collection because they can so often fall on the dour side of the colour wheel.

Pilotto5

I love this dress:

Pilotto1

Mulberry was pretty dull but I loved this coat:

Mulberry

Temperley equally underwhelming (on the whole) despite rolling out a few retired models like Sophie Dahl. However I thought I’d post this look beause it was the high point of the show and shows how skilled she is at putting together patterns.

Temperley1

Jonathan Sunders rolled out a load of clashy 70s looks with A line skirts and polo necks. It wasn’t my bag. The shapes were fine but the patterns and colours gave me brain freeze.

Saunders3

Matthew Williamson was as expected really, Bohotastic but overkill, and lots of dead sheep. However this was rather lovely:

Williamson3

And who doesn’t like a crab on a print?

Williamson1

Mary Katrantzou was really interesting. The colours, fabrics, textures and shapes were exciting. And the shoes were perfect:

Katrantzou1

Possibly the most beautifully and futuristically adorned rain coat in history..

Katrantzou2

And finally, the great Dame of London – Vivienne Westwood (Red Label). Look at this incredibly chic coat, not to mention what looks like a gorgeous, soft gersey dress underneath it:

Westwood1

Trouser suit!

Westwood3

This dress may be my favorite of the whole week, for its pure drapey, delicacy and comfort factor:

Westwood4

But so as not to lull anyone into a false sense of security, there will always be batshit crazy, tartan and super boob lift in there somewhere:

Westwood2

(all images from vogue.com)

Leave a Reply

