Lipstick allergy test – the results!

The first thing I should probably mention is that the allergy test did not quite go to plan. I am allergIc to the glue in fabric plasters but am usually fine with the waterproof hypoallergenic type. However, I don’t usually leave a plaster on for 48 hours. This was my right arm after the plasters were removed (two patches):

After patch right arm

As you will see both patches are pretty irritated. And my left arm below (three patches):

After patch left arm

As you’ll see, my arms didn’t appreciate the plasters, however, my right arm was much worse than my left, even after a few hours when much of the plaster related irritation subsided. My right arm had Eyes Lips Face (E.L.F) Mineral Lipstick nearer the elbow and Beauty Without Cruelty Rosewood lipsticks near the wrist.

The first thing I did to try to see what the problem could be was to check EWG’s Skin Deep Cosmetics Database (http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/) and see what it came up with. Lo and behold, this is what  had to say: http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/product/472092/Beauty_Without_Cruelty_Natural_Infusion_Moisturizing_Lipstick,_Rosewood/. A long list of ingredient concerns, but in particular, Tocopheryl Acetate, a form of vitamin E combined with acetic acid to turn a beneficial ingredient into an irritating one ( more information here: http://www.annmariegianni.com/ingredient-watch-list-tocopheryl-acetate-the-potentially-irritating-form-of-vitamin-e). In fact the whole brand is noted as using a list of potentially irritating ingredients. I guess I’m learning that even the animal friendly brands can be pretty human unfriendly on occasion!

As for the e.l.f Eyes Lip Face Mineral Lipstick it seems the most likely irritating culprits are the Ceresin Wax which can cause allergic contact cheilitis (irritated lips) and the major nasty Retinyl Palmitate which has a hazardous score of 8 over at the cosmetics database – http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/ingredient/705545/RETINYL_PALMITATE_%28VITAMIN_A_PALMITATE%29/

I found it harder to work out how my skin felt about the three on my left arm: Boots Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipstick, Neve Cosmetics Pastello Pencil and Inika’s mineral lipstick. So I’ve decided to wear each for a day and see how I get on.

First up – Boots natural Collection in ‘Rose Bud’. I’ll let you know what my lips think…

Boots natural Rose Bud sm

Leave a comment