Spring/Summer 2013 Trends: our old friend – The Stripe!

In honour of the freezing cold Siberia-like weather we have had this week, and to welcome the torrential rain we are forecast next week in the UK, I thought I’d cheer myself up by looking at some of the trends I’m looking forward to wearing this Spring and Summer.

Firstly, because they are a staple of my wardrobe, especially in the summer – and because you can wear them every which way – The Stripe!

Dolce and Gabbana’s SS 2013 show was awash with vibrant colours and lots of lovely stripes. Here we have slouchy stripe top and shorts combo. Ok so horizontal stripes are more of a challenge in the flattery department but I think this top would look great with some brightly coloured capri-pants if you don’t fancy the shorts…

dolcegabbana-spring-summer-2013-mfw15

I love this striped skirt suit, again from Dolce and Gabbana – the jacket is a perfect little summer number, in fact with the jacket and skirt would work so well with so many things. Sigh.

dolcegabbana-spring-summer-2013-mfw19

Belstaff had lots of stripes in their summer collection. I loved this dress, it is somewhere between a pinafore and a shirt dress, super slouchy and with a softer, grey stripe. I’d like the bag and shoes too please..

belstaff-spring-summer-2013-nyfw37

This is very slinky from marc Jacobs, so not the easiest to wear, but I like that it has long sleeves and still seems very summery. Good if you go on holiday somewhere you need to keep wrists and ankles covered from mosquitos!

marc-jacobs-spring-summer-2013-nyfw73

Ok, so not stripey in the traditional way but I think this is really pretty from Chanel. The cut of the top across the chest would be disturbing without the dress underneath but together it works. I also think lightweight tweed in pale colours looks lovely in the summer, especially in the UK when we spend many hours freezing at weddings.

chanel-spring-summer-2013-pfw79

Finally, back to D & G again – I can’t help it, it was such a fantastic show. It seems I’ve chosen everything in blue or grey so here is a gorgeous stripey dress with some other colours! I love to wear brown in the summer, if you have any tan at all it looks great (or some clever bronzer in my case) and can be worn with every other bright colour (turquoise, coral, line etc..) and some flats – finally!

dolcegabbana-spring-summer-2013-mfw75

(all images from fashionising.com)

Leave a Reply

